University of Hawaii Instutute for Astronomy

spacer
spacer
Colloquia 
spacer

* C = Colloquium
   L = Lunchtime Seminar

Colloquia are held in the IfA Auditorium at 3:30 pm, with refreshments served at 3:15 pm, unless otherwise noted.
Lunch talks are usually held in the IfA Auditorium at 12:30 pm.
e-mail: Len Cowie
             (Colloquium Chair) 


Colloquia: Fall 2000

DATE 
SPEAKER 
INSTITUTE 
TYPE*
TITLE
Wed 16th Aug
B. R. Hunt
S.A.I.C. (Tucson)
L
Super-Resolution of Imagery
Fri 25th Aug
Joan Najita 
N.O.A.O. 
From Stars to Super-planets: the Low-Mass IMF 
in the Young Cluster IC348
Thu 7th Sep
Gene Magnier
IfA/CFHT
L
Recent Developments at CFHT
Fri 8th Sep
   
 
No Colloquium: Rob Whiteley's Ph.D. Thesis Defense
Wed 13th Sep
Paul Lucey 
UH-HIGP 
The (Potential) Surprising Science of the Poles of the Moon
Fri 22nd Sep
     
No Colloquium: Ph.D. Oral Qualifying Exams
Fri 29th Sep
Robin Canup
Southwest Research Inst.
C
An Impact Origin of the Earth-Moon System
Fri 6th Oct
     
No Colloquium 
Thu 12th Oct
  Tracy Beck
  SUNY Stony Brook
L
Fri 20th Oct
  Herve Aussel
IfA 
Mon 23rd Oct
  Greg Aldering
  Lawrence Berkeley Lab
L
Mon 23rd Oct
  Saul Perlmutter
  Lawrence Berkeley Lab
C
Fri 27th Oct
  Sandy Leggett
Joint Astronomy Centre 
C
(Sub-) Stellar Spectral Sequences
Wed 1st Nov
Kaiser, Tokunaga, & Kuhn
IfA
L
New Large Telescope Proposals Under Development at the IFA
Fri 3rd Nov
Dave Jewitt
IfA
C
The 2000 Decadal Review: Implications for Astronomy in Hawaii
Fri 10th Nov
     
Holiday: Veterans' Day
Fri 17th Nov
     
No Colloquium: Faculty Retreat
Fri 24th Nov
     
No Colloquium: Thanksgiving Friday
Wed 29th Nov
  Ray Carlberg
Univ of Toronto 
Fri 1st Dec
 
 
 
No Colloquium: CFHT 21st Anniversary Meeting
Mon 4th Dec
 Hans Zinnecker
 Astrophysical Institute, Potsdam
Thu 7th Dec
 Jounghun Lee
 Institute of Astronomy & Astrophysics, Taipei
Fri 8th Dec
 Peter Conti
 Univ of Colorado
Near-IR Imaging and Spectroscopy of Optically-Obscured Galactic Giant HII Regions:  Discovery of Young Clusters
Fri 15th Dec
  Fred Chaffee
Keck Observatory
The Keck Observatory near the Beginning of the Millennium
Mon 18th Dec
  Reinhard Genzel
MPE Garching
& UC Berkeley 
Ultra-Luminous Galaxy Mergers: Ellipticals in Formation?

.


Website Map Public Information Academics Research About us Home Mauna Kea Observatories Institute for Astronomy University of Hawaii Contact us