University of Hawaii Instutute for Astronomy

spacer
spacer
Colloquia 
spacer

* C = Colloquium
   L = Lunchtime Seminar

Colloquia are held in the IfA Auditorium at 3:30 pm, with refreshments served at 3:15 pm, unless otherwise noted. Lunch talks are usually held in the IfA Auditorium at 12:30 pm. e-mail: Dave Sanders
             (Colloquium Chair) 


Colloquia: Spring/Summer 2003

DATE SPEAKER INSTITUTE TYPE* TITLE
Fri 3rd Jan  Leslie Young Southwest Research Institute  Once and Future Pluto: what we know now, what the puzzles are, and what we can learn from future observations and the Pluto-Kuiper Belt Mission 
Tu 7th Jan  Emeric Le Floc'h Service d'Astrophysique, Saclay  Are the hosts of Gamma-Ray Bursts representative of high redshift galaxies ? 
Thu 9th Jan  Remo Ruffini Universita' La Sapienza - Roma  On the Structures in the Afterglow Peak Emission of Gamma-Ray Bursts 
Tu 14th Jan  Mike Shara American Museum of Natural History & Columbia U.  Relativity for the Millions: The Einstein Exhibition at the American Museum of Natural History 
Wed 15th Jan  Mike Shara American Museum of Natural History & Columbia U.  Making Blue Stragglers and Type Ia Supernovae in Star Clusters 
Wed 22nd Jan  Imke de Pater U.C. Berkeley  Studies at Near and Mid-infrared Wavelengths with the Keck Telescope of: 1) Volcanism on Io and 2) Titan's Atmosphere and Surface 
Wed 29th Jan  Julie Lutz University of Washington  Using NASA Resources for Education and Public Outreach 
Tu 4th Feb  Jan Kleyna University of Cambridge  Dark Matter in the Draco and Ursa Minor dwarf spheroidals 
Wed 5th Feb  Scott Tremaine Princeton University  The Demography of Massive Black Holes 
Mon 10th Feb  Tomotsugu Goto Carnegie Mellon University & Univ. of Tokyo  The Environmental Effects on Cluster Galaxy Evolution Based on the SDSS Data 
Wed 12th Feb  Jeff Bell HIGP, University of Hawaii  Why We Might be Alone: The Case Against Earth-Like Planets 
Wed 19th Feb  Ben Zuckerman U.C. Los Angeles  Young Stars Near Earth: Implications for the Origin of Planetary Systems 
Mon 24th Feb  Jean-Julien Fleck Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris  Tidally Induced Parametric Excitation in Dwarf Spheroidal Galaxies 
Tu 4th Mar  Stephen Smartt Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge  Detecting the Progenitors of Core-collapse Supernovae 
Fri 14th Mar  Mike Mumma Goddard Space Flight Center  cancelled 
Thurs 20th Mar  Jean Brodie U.C. Santa Cruz  Globular Cluster Sub-Populations and Galaxy Assembly 
Fri 21st Mar  Vicki Sarajadini University of Florida  Variable Galaxies Detected with the Hubble Space Telescope 
Wed 26th Mar  -- --   --   *** Spring Break *** 
Wed 2nd Apr  Rolf-Peter Kudritzki IfA  A New Extragalactic Distance Determination Method Using Spectroscopy of Blue Supergiants 
Wed 9th Apr  Don Goldsmith Interstellar Media  Bringing Astronomy to the Public: Successes and Challenges 
Wed 16th Apr  Doug Knight ALU LIKE, Inc  King Kalekaua: The Versatile Monarch's Interest in Astronomy and 19th Century Technology 
Mon 21st Apr  Daniel Pisano CSIRO-ATNF  Searching for the Remnants of Galaxy Formation 
Wed 23rd Apr  Norbert Przybilla IfA  Quantitative Spectroscopy of Supergiants 
Wed 30th Apr  Marianne Takamiya UH Hilo  Star Formation Rate in Nearby and z~0.7 Galaxies 
Mon 5th May  Ben Maughan Univ. of Birmingham, UK XMM and Chandra Observations of High Redshift Galaxy Clusters 
Wed 7th May  Bill Keel University of Alabama Formation of Massive Star Clusters in Interacting Galaxies - When, Where, How? 
Thurs 8th May  Scott Davis International Dark Sky Association What is the International Dark-Sky Association? 
Wed 14th May  Lisa Prato U.C. Los Angeles The Smallest Mass Ratio Young Star Spectroscopic Binaries 
Fri 16th May  Nagendra Singh Univ. of Alabama - Huntsville  Double Layers, Magnetic Reconnection, and Alfven Waves as Acceleration Mechanisms in Space and Astrophysical Plasmas 
Wed 4th June  Peter Barthel Kapteyn Institute, Groningen Nuclear Activity in Nearby Galaxies 
Mon 23rd June  Naoyuki Tamura Durham, UK Color Gradients in Elliptical Galaxies: Evidence for Environmental Dependence of Galaxy Formation Process ? 
Wed 2nd July  Leon Golub CfA The Sun in X-rays  
Thurs 3rd July  Graham Smith Caltech The Mass Structure of X-ray Luminous Galaxy Clusters at z=0.2: The View from Hubble and Chandra  
Wed 9th July  Casey Lisse Univ. of Maryland Observations of EUV and X-ray Emission from Comets  
Wed 30th July  Chris Matzner CITA The Nature of Nonradiative, Magnetized Accretion onto SgrA*  
Wed 6th August  John Kormendy Univ. of Texas at Austin Scaling Laws for Dark Matter Halos in Late-type and Dwarf Spheroidal Galaxies  



Website Map Public Information Academics Research About us Home Mauna Kea Observatories Institute for Astronomy University of Hawaii Contact us