Institute for Astronomy Logo Home Page Website Map Research Academics Public Information Contact us Mauna Kea Observatories University of Hawaii Institute for Astronomy home

spacer
spacer
Colloquia 
spacer

* C = Colloquium
   L = Lunchtime Seminar

Colloquia are held in the IfA Auditorium at 3:30 pm, with refreshments served at 3:15 pm, unless otherwise noted. Lunch talks are usually held in the IfA Auditorium at 12:30 pm. e-mail: Dave Sanders
             (Colloquium Chair) 


Colloquia: Fall 2003

DATE SPEAKER INSTITUTE TYPE* TITLE
Tu 2 Sept  Edo Berger Caltech  A Mystery and a Tool: The Energetics and Host Galaxies of Gamma-Ray Bursts 
Wed 3 Sept  Brent Tully IfA  Lighthouses in the Sea of Dark Matter 
Fri 5 Sept  Mike Perlman & David Carter Harvard-CfA & NASA/GSFC  The NASA Satellite Laser Ranging Network 
Wed 17 Sept  Pablo Fosalba IfA  Cosmology with the Cosmic Microwave Background Anisotropies 
Wed 24 Sept  Joe Jensen Gemini-North  Gemini: Recent Progress and Preparations for 2004 
Fri 3 Oct  Ruediger Kneissl MRAO, Cambridge  Cosmology with Sunyaev-Zeldovich Cluster Survey Observations 
Wed 8 Oct  Luca Rizzi IfA  Spatially Resolved Star Formation Histories of Local Group Dwarf Spheroidal Galaxies 
Wed 22 Oct  Masanori Iye NAOJ  Subaru Instrumentation: Today and Tomorrow 
Wed 29 Oct  David Valls-Gabaud CFHT - Waimea  Reconstructing Star Formation Histories in the Local Group 
Wed 5 Nov  Alison Coil U.C. Berkeley  Early Results from the DEEP2 Redshift Survey 
Wed 19 Nov  Wolfgang Gieren Universidad de Concepcion  Improving the Extragalactic Distance Scale with Stellar Standard Candles 
Wed 26 Nov  Arjun Dey NOAO  TBD 
Wed 3 Dec  Fabrizio Bernardi IfA  TBD 
Tu 16 Dec  Rene Doyon U. Montreal  TBD 
Wed 21 Jan  Bob Becker U.C. Davis & LLNL  The Blue Quasar Conspiracy: Maybe We Need a Recount