University of Hawaii Instutute for Astronomy
spacer
spacer
spacer
Colloquia 
spacer

* C = Colloquium
   L = Lunchtime Seminar

Colloquia are held in the IfA Auditorium at 3:30 pm, with refreshments served at 3:15 pm, unless otherwise noted.
Lunch talks are usually held in the IfA Auditorium at 12:30 pm.
e-mail: Len Cowie
             (Colloquium Chair) 



spacer

Colloquia: Fall 2007

DATE SPEAKER INSTITUTE TYPE* TITLE
Wed 29 Aug  Günther Hasinger  MPE Garching  The Future of X-Ray Astronomy 
Wed 5 Sep  Beth Biller  IfA  Direct Imaging of Exoplanets: Prospects for Comparative Exoplanetology 
Tues 11 Sep  Tommaso Treu  UCSB  Dark matter and black holes over cosmic time 
Wed 19 Sep  Lucas Cieza  IfA  Recent Spitzer results on circumstellar disks: dissipation timescales and disk-braking of T Tauri rotation 
Wed 26 Sep  Thierry Forveille  Lab. d'Astrophysique de Grenoble  Planets around M dwarfs: what can they tell us? 
Wed 3 Oct  Ken Chambers  IfA  Science with the PS1 System 
Wed 10 Oct  John Johnson  IfA  Planet Hunting in New Stellar Domains 
Thurs 18 Oct  Josh Simon  Caltech  Dark Matter in Dwarf Galaxies 
Wed 24 Oct  Andy Fruchter  StScI  Gamma-Ray Bursts from a Safe Distance 
Wed 31 Oct  Rosie Wyse  JHU  Dark Matter and Baryons in Dwarf Spheroidal Galaxies 
Thurs 8 Nov  Alessandro Morbidelli  Nice Observatory  Crucial dynamical phases in solar system formation 
Tues 13 Nov  Jim Peebles  Princeton  Galaxy formation: successes and challenges for the standard cosmology 
Thurs 15 Nov  Ben Davies  Rochester Institute of Technology  The Massive Red Supergiant Clusters at the Base of the Scutum-Crux Spiral Arm 
Wed 28 Nov  André Maeder  Geneva Observatory  Massive star evolution in relation with the first stars and the GRBs 
Wed 5 Dec  Adam Bolton  IfA  Scrutinizing the Inscrutable: Direct Mass Measurements of Massive Elliptical Galaxies 
Thurs 13 Dec  Gaitee Hussain  ESO  Stellar Coronae in Young Solar Type Stars 

spacer
  spacer
Website Map Public Information Academics Research About us Home Mauna Kea Observatories Institute for Astronomy University of Hawaii Contact us