University of Hawaii Instutute for Astronomy
spacer
spacer
spacer
Colloquia 
spacer

* C = Colloquium
   L = Lunchtime Seminar

Colloquia are held in the IfA Auditorium at 3:30 pm, with refreshments served at 3:15 pm, unless otherwise noted.
Lunch talks are usually held in the IfA Auditorium at 12:30 pm.
e-mail: Lisa Kewley
             (Colloquium Chair) 



spacer

Colloquia: Spring/Summer 2009

The IfA Colloquia are kindly sponsored by the Friends of the IfA.

DATE SPEAKER INSTITUTE TYPE* TITLE HOST
Wed 14 Jan   Mauro Giavalisco   UMass   Further Steps Toward Understanding Galaxy Evolution   Lisa Kewley  
Wed 21 Jan   Betsy Barton   UC Irvine   Galaxy Evolution in the Lowest-Density Environments   Lisa Kewley  
Wed 28 Jan   Michael Murphy   Swinburne University   Varying fundamental constants?: Observational status and future prospects   Lisa Kewley  
Wed 4 Feb   Brett Gladman   University of British Columbia   Yowsers in the outer Solar System   Rob Jedicke 
Wed 11 Feb   Walter Duley   University of Waterloo   Organics in the Interstellar Medium   Alan Tokunaga  
Wed 18 Feb   Tom Soifer   Caltech   Dust Obscured Galaxies: Luminous Infrared Galaxies in the Distant Universe Bob Joseph  
Wed 25 Feb   James Rhoads   Arizona State University   Fruits in Space:  Galaxy Evolution from redshift 6.5 to 0.3 with the HST GRAPES and PEARS Surveys   Lisa Kewley  
Fri 6 March 1pm  Mike Mumma   NASA/GSFC   Methane on Mars — Geology, Biology, neither, or both?   Karen Meech  
Wed 11 March   Norbert Schorghofer   IfA Astrobiology Program   The Orbital Theory of Ice Ages on Mars

 
Wed 18 March   Tomo Goto   IfA   A search for the first z~7 QSOs
Lisa Kewley  
Wed 25 March   Amaya Moro-Martin
Princeton  
Modeling and observations of debris disks    Dave Jewitt 
Wed 1 April   Dave Jewitt     What I Did In Hawaii  Nader Haghighipour 
Wed 8 April  
GARETH WYNN WILLIAMS 

RECENT X-RAY ANALYSIS OF AN ENCRUSTED PIECE OF BRONZE FROM A 2000-YEAR-0LD GREEK SHIPWRECK SHOW IT TO BE AN ASTRONOMICAL
COMPUTING DEVICE OF ASTONISHING COMPLEXITY  

 
Wed 15 April   Paul Kalas   Berkeley HST Imaging of Fomalhaut:
Direct detection of an exosolar planet and Kuiper Belt around a nearby star.  
   John Rayner
Wed 22 April   Andy Lawrence   University of Edinburgh   THE UKIRT INFRARED DEEP SKY SURVEY : THE UNIVERSE FROM PARSECS TO GIGAPARSECS    Nick Kaiser  
Wed 29 April   Priya Natarajan   Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study   Cosmology with gravitational lensing by clusters of galaxies
Ezequiel Treister  
Mon 4 May   Wesley Fraser    Caltech Planet Formation: the Difficulty with the Small Guys   Emily Schaller 
Wed 13 May   Jonathan WIlliams   IfA   Clouds, cores, and disks:
a potpourri of results from the submillimeter telescopes on Mauna Kea
 
Wed 20 May   Eric Gawiser      Rutgers University Lyman Alpha Emitting Galaxies at z~3:  Progenitors of Present-day L* Galaxies
Ezequiel Treister 
Wed 27 May   Jay Farihi   University of Leicester   Measuring the Frequency and Composition of Extrasolar
Minor Planets 
John Rayner  
Wed 10 June
Bill Bottke Southwest Research Institute C

spacer
  spacer


Website Map Public Information Academics Research About us Home Mauna Kea Observatories Institute for Astronomy University of Hawaii Contact us