University of Hawaii Instutute for Astronomy

spacer
spacer
Colloquia 
spacer

* C = Colloquium
   L = Lunchtime Seminar

Colloquia are held in the IfA Auditorium at 3:30 pm, with refreshments served at 3:15 pm, unless otherwise noted. Lunch talks are usually held in the IfA Auditorium at 12:30 pm. e-mail: Dave Sanders
             (Colloquium Chair) 


Colloquia: Spring 1999

DATE SPEAKER INSTITUTE TYPE* TITLE
Fri 1/15/99 Christ Ftaclas Michigan Technological University C Near Term Opportunities for Deep Circumstellar Imaging
Fri 1/22/99 Rick Binzel MIT C Where Do Meteorites Come From?
Thu 1/28/98 Henk Hoekstra Kapteyn Institute L Weak lensing: what one can do with HST mosaics
Fri 1/29/99 Fred Lo ASIAA C The Present & Future at the ASIAA: SMA, TAOS & AMIBA
Thu 2/11/99 Alexey Vikhlinin CFA L X-ray Overluminous Elliptical Galaxies: A New Class of Mass Concentrations in the Universe
Fri 2/12/99 TBA - C -
Thu 2/18/99 George Fuller UCSD P Oh No! Not Sterile Neutrinos!
Fri 2/19/99 Bob Abraham IOA, Cambridge C Physical Morphology at High Redshifts
Thu 2/25/99 Guenther Hasinger Astrophysikalisches Institut Potsdam C The X-Ray Background and the Star-Forming History of the Universe
Fri 3/4/99 David Dearborn LLNL C Ancient Andean Astronomy
Fri 3/5/99 Mike Jura UCLA C The Evolution of Dust Around Main Sequence Stars
Fri 3/12/99 Eric Richards U.Virginia L Radio Emission from Distant Field Galaxies
Fri 3/12/99 Pascale Ehrenfreund Leiden C Comsic Dust: New Results from the Infrared Space Observatory ISO
Fri 3/19/99 Dennis Zaritsky Lick C Scanning the Sky for Galaxy Clusters
Fri 3/26/99 Roger Davies Durham L Ellipticals, Bulges and Disks, What Happened When?
Thu 4/1/99 Ned Wright UCLA C The CIBR and SIRTF
Thu 4/8/99 Mel Ulmer North-Western P Pulsars, Neutron Stars, and X-rays: The More We Learn, The Less We Know
Fri 4/9/99 TBA - C -
Thu 4/15/99 Laurent Vigroux Saclay L MEGACAM on the CFHT
Fri 4/16/99 Douglass Scott UBC C Cosmic Microwave Background Anisotropy
Fri 4/23/99 TBA - C -
Mon 4/26/99 Gene Magnier U. Washington C The U.W. LONEOS Variability and Transient Search
Fri 4/30/99 Dave Turnshek U. Pittsburg C The Nature of Low-Redshift Damped Lyman-Alpha Systems in Quasar Spectra
Fri 5/7/99 Olivier Le Fevre Laboratoire d'Astronomie Spatiale, Marseille C The VLT-VIRMOS Deep Redshift Survey
Fri 5/14/99 Roger Blandford Caltech C Adiabatic Accretion onto Black Holes
Thu 6/4/99 Dr. Peter Wizinowich Keck Observatory L Adaptive Optics and Interferometry at Keck Observatory
Fri 6/4/99 Hagai Netzer Tel Aviv University and RIKEN C The X-ray Spectrum of Seyfert 2s and Ultra-luminous IR Galaxies
Fri 6/17/99 Craig DeForest NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center C Solar Polar Plumes: A Key to Coronal Mysteries
Tue 6/22/99 Dr. Matthew Penn California State University Northridge C Combining Ground- and Space-based Observations of an Erupting Filament
Wed 6/23/99 Jeremy Mould Mount Stromlo C Results of the HST Key Project on the Extragalactic Distance Scale
Fri 6/25/99 Tristan Guillot Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur C Interior and Evolution of Giant Planets and the Fate of Planetesimals in the Early Solar System
Fri 7/2/99 Martin Haas Max-Planck-Institut f. Astronomie, L ISO 5 - 200 Micron Photometry of ULIRGs and PG Quasars
Fri 7/16/99 Steve Miller UCL L The Role of H3+ in Planetary Atmospheres
Fri 7/30/99 Masatoshi Ohishi NAOJ C Chemical Evolution Of Molecular Clouds



Website Map Public Information Academics Research About us Home Mauna Kea Observatories Institute for Astronomy University of Hawaii Contact us