University of Hawaii Instutute for Astronomy

spacer
spacer
Colloquia 
spacer

* C = Colloquium
   L = Lunchtime Seminar

Colloquia are held in the IfA Auditorium at 3:30 pm, with refreshments served at 3:15 pm, unless otherwise noted. Lunch talks are usually held in the IfA Auditorium at 12:30 pm. e-mail: Dave Sanders
             (Colloquium Chair) 


Colloquia: Fall 1999

DATE SPEAKER INSTITUTE TYPE* TITLE
Tue 8/24/99 Alastair Edge Durham L Molecular gas in cooling flow clusters - detected at last!
Tue 8/31/99 Eric Agol JHU L Imaging a Quasar Accretion Disk with Microlensing
Fri 9/3/99 Rick Knabb IfA and Dept of Meteorology L Forecasting for Mauna Kea Observatories Using Satellite and Numerical Model Data
Thu 9/2/99 David Jewitt IfA C The Kuiper Belt and The Early Solar System
Fri 9/10/99 Peter Mouginis-Mark HIGP C The New Geology of Mars
Mon 9/13/99 Puragra Guhathakurta Lick Obs C Studies of M31's Stellar Halo
Tue 9/21/99 Rayjay Jayawardhana CfA C Circumstellar Disks: From Protostars to Planetary Systems
Fri 10/1/99 Alex Szalay Johns Hopkins C Photometric redshifts: a glimpse of the future
Fri 10/8/99 Jeff Kuhn IfA C Dwarf spheroidals in the Local Group -- Not the galaxies you thought they were
Fri 10/15/99 Alan Boss Carnegie Institution of Washington C Gas Giant Planet Formation: Core Accretion or Disk Instability
Mon 10/18/99 Ed Shaya Goddard L The Astronomy XML Language and the ADC
Fri 10/29/99 Mike Hudson Waterloo C Beyond the Great Attractor: Probing Dark Matter with Cosmic Flows
Fri 11/5/99 Yannick Mellier Institute d'Astrophysique de Paris C Weak Lensing Analysis of Clusters of Galaxies and the X-ray/Lensing Discrepancy
Wed 11/17/99 Lawrence Cram U. Sydney C Star Formation and 1.4 GHz Radio Emission
Thu 11/18/99 Elisha Polomski U. Florida L The Circumstellar Environments of the Pre-Main-Sequence Ae/Be Stars
Fri 11/19/99 Vince Mannings Jet Propulsion Laboratory C Disk Evolution and the Origin of Planets
Wed 11/24/99 Phil Judge High Altitude Observatory C Non-Uniqueness Of Atmospheric Modeling
Fri 12/3/99 Linda Sparke U. Wisconsin C Multiply Barred and Lopsided Galaxies
Fri 12/10/99 Richard Ellis Caltech C The Mass Assembly History of Galaxies
Tues 12/21/99 Marc Kuchner CalTech L Exozodiacal Dust

* S = Seminar; L = Lunchtime Seminar; C = Colloquium; P = Physics Colloquium

Colloquia are held in the IfA auditorium at 3:30 pm with refreshements served at 3:15pm. unless otherwise noted.

Lunch talks are usually held in the IfA auditorium at 12:30.


go to IfA home page...

e-mail: Nick Kaiser (colloquium chair)





Website Map Public Information Academics Research About us Home Mauna Kea Observatories Institute for Astronomy University of Hawaii Contact us