mountain profile Institute for Astronomy University of Hawaii

JCMT Fellowship

One of the features of the agreement between the University of Hawaii and the three countries which operate the James Clerk Maxwell Telescope (United Kingdom, Netherlands and Canada) is the provision for a research fellowship in submillimeter astronomy.  The fellowship may be awarded either to a recent PhD graduate or to a visiting senior scientist on temporary leave from a home institution. Postdoctoral fellows may be appointed for up to three years; senior scientists make shorter visits.

JCMT fellows are based  at the University of Hawaii's Institute for Astronomy and encouraged to collaborate with astronomers at the  Joint Astronomy Centre in Hilo - headquarters of the JCMT operation. The JCMT fellow enjoys all privileges of an IfA staff member including access to other telescopes on Mauna Kea such as the Caltech Submillimeter Observatory (CSO) and the Submillimeter Array (SMA)

The James Clerk Maxwell Telescope is funded by the United Kingdom Science and Technology Facilities Council, the National Research Council of Canada, and the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research.

Recipients of the JCMT Fellowship:
  • 1989-1990 Shudong Zhou,  PhD University of Texas Molecular clouds
  • 1991 Fred Lo and Judy Young, (senior visiting fellows) Molecules in nearby galaxies
  • 1991-1994 Ned Ladd,  PhD, Harvard University Molecular clouds
  • 1994-1997 John Carpenter, PhD, University of Massachussetts Molecular clouds
  • 1997-2000 Nicolas Biver PhD, University of Paris  Comets
  • 2000-2003 Hervé Aussel, PhD, University of Paris Galaxies 
  • 2003-2006 Crystal Brogan, PhD, University of Kentucky  Interstellar Medium