Your Organising Committee

IAU Commission #34

(Interstellar Matter)

2000 - 2003

(last Modified: 12 Dec 2000)

Members of the Organising Committee serve for six years.

The Commission Vice-President is elected by the Committee from amongst its ranks, and is automatically the President-elect.

The President serves for three years, and is automatically President of Division VI of the IAU.


Name

Country

e-mail

Home

Page

Specialities

Rafael Bachiller

Spain

1997

bachiller@oan.es

 

Molecular clouds. Star formation. Protostars. Bipolar molecular outflows.Neutral matter in planetary, proto-planetary nebulae.Interstellar molecular lines. Interstellar chemistry.Millimeter-wave radioastronomy.

John Dyson

(Vice-Pres.)

UK

2000-

2003

 

jed@ast.leeds.ac.uk

The theory of the interstellar medium, gas dynamics, Active Galactic Nuclei, ionisation and recombination fronts.

Jose Franco

Mexico

2000

pepe@astroscu.unam.mx

Physical processes in the ISM and the structure of the gasous disk. Interactions between stars and the ISM: HII regions, Planetary Nebulae, wind-driven cavities, supernova remnants, and superbubbles. Star formation.

Thomas Henning

Germany

1997

henning@astro.uni-jena.de

 

Interstellar dust, Laboratory astrophysics, Star formation, Line spectroscopy & Radiation hydrodynamics

Trung Hua

France

2000

trung.hua@astrsp-mrs.fr

Physical parameters of planetary nebulae

Sun Kwok

Canada

1997

kwok@iras.ucalgary.ca

Evolution of planetary nebulae interstellar dust, and circumstellar envelopes of AGB stars. Chair PN Working Group

Thomas J Millar

UK

2000

Tom.Millar@umist.ac.uk

Astrochemistry; physics of the ISM; hot molecular cores; protoplanetary disks; AGB circumstellar envelopes; dark molecular clouds

Guillaume Pineau

des Forets

France

1997

forets@obspm.fr

molecules and interstellar chemistry, gas dynamics and MHD shocks, photodominated regions

John Raymond

USA

1997

jraymond@cfa.harvard.edu

The theory and observation of optical, UV and X-ray emission from interstellar shock waves.

Bo Reipurth

(President)

USA

2000-

2003

 

reipurth@ifa.hawaii.edu

Pre-main sequence objects, Herbig-Haro jets and outflows, protostellar multiplicity, brown dwarfs.

Yoshiaki Sofue

Japan

2000

sofue@ioa.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp

ISM in galaxies;radio and mm-wave observations; molecular lines and clouds; dynamics and kinematics of galaxies; rotation curves and mass of galaxies, magnetic fields; Galactic Center(s)

Grazyna Stasinska

France

2000

grazyna.stasinska@obspm.fr

planetary nebulae, HII regions, emission line galaxies

Guillermo

Tenorio-Tagle

Mexico

1997

gtt@inaoep.mx

Theoretical multi-dimensional hydrodynamics of HII regions and galactic outflows.

Sylvia

Torres-Peimbert

Mexico

1997

silvia@astroscu.unam.mx

Spectroscopy and Chemical abundances of Planetary Nebulae and HII regions.

Jose Vilchez

Spain

2000

jvm@iaa.es

Ionized nebulae; star formation in giant HII regions; abundances and chemical evolution of the ISM


Please send comments to:

reipurth@ifa.hawaii.edu
 

Back to home page