Division III Information

Division III comprises 6 Commissions and currently is sponsoring 2 Working Groups.

The Commissions are:

Com. 15: Physical Studies of Comets and Minor Planets

Com. 16: Physical Studies of Planets and Satellites

Com. 20: Positions and Motions of Minor Planets, Comets, and Satellites

Com. 21: Light of the Night Sky

Com. 22: Meteors, Meteorites and Interplanetary Dust

Com. 51: Bioastronomy: Search for Extraterrestrial Life

Divisional Working Groups of interest to Commission 51 are:

1. The Working Group on Near Earth Objects (NEOs), chaired by David Morrison under Divisions I (Fundamental Astronomy) and III (Planetary Systems Sciences)

2. The Committee on Small Bodies Nomenclature (C SBN), chaired by P. Kilmartin, under Division III.

The URL for Division III is http://www.ss.astro.umd.edu/IAU/div3

Back to the Home Page

Page last updated 13 March 2000
Please e-mail any questions or comments to IAU Commission 51