mountain profile Institute for Astronomy University of Hawaii

Jaeggli, Lin win AURA Science Award

IfA alumna Sarah Jaeggli (PhD 2011), IfA solar astronomer Haosheng Lin, and Han Uitenbroek (National Solar Observatory) have received a 2012 AURA Science Award for work that explains the very high magnetic fields often observed in sunspot umbra. Jaeggli’s doctoral dissertation formed the basis of this work, which was published in the February 1, 2012, issue of The Astrophysical Journal and was the subject of an earlier press release.

AURA (Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy) is a consortium of universities and other institutions that operates world-class astronomical observatories, including the Gemini telescopes on Mauna Kea and in Chile and the Space Telescope Science Institute, which carries out the scientific mission of the Hubble Space Telescope.

More about the scientific work